Login Welcome, Guest
Eight city clusters to be developed at Rs 2,100 cr

Bangalore: Karnataka government today decided to develop eight city clusters in Bangalore Metropolitan Region Development Authority (BMRDL) areas at an estimated cost of Rs 2,100 crore.


Government will avail Rs 1,400 crore loan from Asian Development Bank and contribute Rs 700 crore to develop the city clusters, Minister for Urban Development, S Suresh Kumar told reporters after the cabinet meeting here.

The Karnataka Industrial Development Corporation had submitted a plan to the government suggesting development of city clusters in areas falling under BMRDL as its study indicated that the population there would inflate to 1.80 crore by 2030, he said.

Kumar said the city clusters will come up between Ramanagar and Channapatna, Nelamangala-Dabaspet, Anekal-Jigani, Devanahalli-Vijaypura and Hoskote-K R Puram. City clusters will also be developed at Magadi, Kanakapura and Doddaballapur, he added.

The cabinet also decided to expand four-lane to six-lane Bus Rapid Transit System (BRTS) corridor project on Hubli-Dharwad road, Kumar said.

"The Rs 82 crore project will be allocated to GVR Infrastructure Projects Limited and will have to complete it by 2015," he said.